Dell Warranty Upgrade Request Disappointment

Dell Customer Login > Your Name > Options (My Account; Order Status; My Saved Items; My Products). Go to My Product to get the list of Dell products you have bought over the years.

Select the product with warranty period nearing its end. Expand the selection and under the Support Services Status (Active and Extend or Upgrade) > Select Extend or Upgrade. I bought my laptop in 2021. It came with 2 year warranty. I thought the extension was easy and worthwhile.

Customer Support was transactional and disappointing.

I received an email from Inside Sales Representative III. It elicited the following points (personal use/business use; if business use, what is the billing organisation’s name & address; who was the end user; the system’s performance).

After I have provided the details and asked for additional help. The AI or robotic-type of answer came back promptly while successfully ignoring my other request for help. It (not sure the email was from a real person) focused on detailing the Special prices for Premium Support Contract (Onsite Hardware Part Replacement + Technical Support 24-7) for 1 year at $214 + 8% GST (total 231.12).

Disappointingly, it also detailed there are two payment modes (Credit/Debit Card over Phone; or Bank Transfer to Dell Citi Account via Direct Bank Transfer to Dell Global B.V. Singapore Branch AC 0-820826-019) SWIFT CITISGSG. The person requested sharing of paid receipt over email after bank transfer. Warranty excludes battery, accidental drop, break, damage, spill, wear and tear, and natural disaster. Price quoted is subjected to change without prior notice.

I felt that Dell’s customer very transactional engagement had expected failure (i.e., expecting the customer to abort their intention to extend their warranty).

After the episode, I have decided to quit the warranty extension. In addition, I have decided to abort my intention to buy XPS 13 laptop that was still in my shopping cart. I was disappointed with such cold transactional engagement from Dell.

Good product with lousy service is bad.

The transactions had all been via Dell’s website and over two emails. It wasted two days.

Leave a comment